JR East To Launch New Design of Suica And Pasmo Card for Tourists on 1st September 2019

JR PASS – Are you planning a trip to the city of kawaii fashion, train sushi and Godzilla soon? Then you would definitely need a smart travel card also known as IC (Integrated Circuit) card, a tap-and-go pass that is loaded with money which can be used for boarding trains, purchasing items from vending machines and convenience stores.

The best way to get around Tokyo for travellers is via its extensive train and subway network. It is through riding on these carriages that will give you with a glimpse of what it means to be a Tokyoite, and this is the most convenient and cost-effective way to explore the city.

Just remember not to miss the last train!

Welcome IC Card for Tourists

Image of Welcome Suica with courtesy from JR East
Image of PASMO Passport with courtesy of PASMO

The two common IC cards in Tokyo are Suica and PASMO, which can be purchased at the Narita Airport and the majority of the JR East stations. This autumn, JR East will be releasing a new type of IC card for tourists visiting Tokyo, and they are ‘Welcome Suica’ and ‘PASMO Passport’. Price of the cards start from 1,000 yen (SGD$13) and goes up to 10,000 yen (SGD$130) per piece, and the card do not incur a deposit. However, it is important to note that the validity of use for the ‘Welcome Card’ is 28 days. If you are going to study or work for more than 1 month in Tokyo, then it is wiser to get the regular Suica and PASMO instead. The regular Suica and PASMO would charge a 500 yen ($6.50) refundable deposit.

The new IC card for tourists can be purchased from 1st September onwards at these locations:

JR EAST Travel Service Center (Narita Airport Station, Airport 2nd Building Station, Tokyo Monorail Line Haneda Airport International Building Station, Tokyo Station, Shinjuku Station, Shibuya Station, Ikebukuro Station, Ueno Station, Hamamatsucho Station), Narita Airport station, the airport’s second building station.

Must Read

You might be interested in...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here